Quality Enhancement Plan »

Faculty Resources


QEP Negotiables and Non-Negotiables
 
In the early part of the fall 2015 term, faculty coordinators chose between three options for QEP implementation: 
 
  1. create a signature assignment that aligns with the Critical Thinking VALUE rubric 
  2. employ a toolkit activity (listed below) that hits on one or more of the QEP SLOs and thus aligns with the Critical Thinking VALUE rubric 
  3. create a gateway and capstone project or set of assignments, the pieces of which align with the Critical Thinking VALUE rubric. 
 
Starting in the spring 2016, all faculty will be required both teach (or continue to teach) critical thinking and submit student artifacts via Blackboard Outcomes. Thus, faculty will need to be familiar enough with eCampus to set up and align assignments.  
 
In support of faculty, the Faculty Teaching and Learning Center (FTLC) will be hosting several trainings throughout the fall 2015 semester as well as during Return Week 2016. 
The FTLC has also created a QEP eCampus Essentials Quick Reference Sheet
 
In addition, the following online tutorials may be helpful:  

Creating an assignment in eCampus: http://ecampus.support.dcccd.edu/v91/instructortutorials/tutorialFiles/eCBT101/Manage%20Content/assignments91.htm 
Adding an alignment in eCampus: http://fast.dcccd.edu/blackboard-outcomes.shtml     
 
In addition, faculty have also been assigned a QEP Team Lead based on their specific subject area and are encouraged to contact their lead with any questions or concerns about the QEP and/or the assessment process. Team Leads can also help guide faculty in choosing apt assignments that focus on critical thinking. 
 
Philosophy, Humanities, Art and Music, and Drama faculty reports Vanessa Mercado-Taylor, vtaylor@dcccd.edu 
Government, History, Sociology, and Psychology faculty reports to Cindy Brown, ccbrown@dcccd.edu 
Human Development, Teacher Preparation, Learning Framework, and ESOL faculty reports to Mwauna Maxwell, mmaxwell@dcccd.edu 
Math, Developmental Math, and Physical Education faculty reports to Dale Pearson, dale.pearson@dcccd.edu 
Information Technology faculty reports to Francisco Rodriguez, firodriguez@dcccd.edu 
Geology/Environmental Science, Physics, Biology, and Chemistry faculty reports to Jozef Borvak, jborvak@dcccd.edu 
Speech faculty reports to Robin Fletcher, rnfletcher@dcccd.edu 
Nursing, Medical Assisting, Paramedic, Respiratory Care, Sonography, Surgical Tech, MRI, and Health Occupation faculty reports to Lisa Locke, llock@dcccd.edu 
Paralegal and Conflict Management faculty reports to Cesar Espinoza, cespinoza@dcccd.edu 
Accounting, Criminal Justice, Fire Protection, Management, Food Service, Interior Design, BOSS, Architecture, Public Service, Fashion Design Marketing, and Business Administration faculty reports to Jessie Yearwood, jyearwood@dcccd.edu 
Continuing Education (Police, Fire, EMT, Welding, Food Service, and CHW) faculty reports to Mary Benson (m.benson@dcccd.edu) and Anita Bedford (abedford@dcccd.edu
English, Developmental Reading, Developmental Writing, DIRW, and Foreign Language faculty reports to Samantha Schulze, sschulze@dcccd.edu 
 
For more information on the structure of the QEP committee, please see this QEP Committee Chart
 
All QEP student artifacts should be aligned with the Critical Thinking VALUE Rubric, and they will be assessed using this rubric.   

TOOLKITS: 

Please contact your QEP Team for more information about and copies of the toolkits.